One of the longest-running and popular cricket tournaments in the country, Relianz Forex Spirit of Cricket Cup 2020, has seen some stellar performances by both teams and individuals which is now progressing toward the quarter-finals soon.

Of the eleven teams and 250 players playing in the tournament, Team AIS United, TANZ City Boys are leading the points table with 36 each and Mighty Boys with 32 points.

The tournament is organised by Migrant Community Cricket Club for the 22nd year, and four matches are played every Sunday since December 1 last year at the Auckland Domain cricket grounds.

AIS United won all seven matches played cementing top spot on the table followed by TANZ City Boyz with seven wins of eight matches followed by Mighty Blues with six wins of eight matches played. The fourth and fifth positions are taken by, five wins for Probasee Bengalee and Deccan Acers each of the seven matches played.

The eleventh position has been taken by Tamil Thunders after losing all of the eight matches played, followed by Black Hawks in 10th position with one win of nine matches, Tuf XI with two wins so far of eight matches, Royal Knights in 8th spot with two wins and NZ Telugu Tigers on 7th spot with three wins of six matches. The sixth position has been taken by NZ Telugu Stars with four wins of seven matches- 18 points, one ahead of Deccan Rising Stars to take one spot above.

The top two batting stars of the tournament are Hemadri Chakraborty from Probasee Bengalee with 247 runs in seven matches, followed by Suhas Shanbhogue with 146 runs of six matches.

The top two bowlers of the tournament are Sukeertha Madaka from TANZ City Boys with 23 wickets in six matches giving 60 runs over 23.2 overs, with an economy of 2.57. Venkateshwaran Murali Kumar from Black Hawks has taken the second spot in bowling with 19 wickets in nine matches giving 109 runs off 34 overs with an economy of 3.21.

The top three spots for players of the match has been taken by Sukeertha Madaka (#1) with 1398 points in six matches, followed by Venkateshwaran Murali Kumar (#2) with 1279 points in nine matches and Hemadri Charabborty (#3) scoring 1270 points in seven matches falling from number position since last week. The players are allotted points on their overall performance that includes batting, bowling, fielding, Man of the Match awards and other criteria.

The playoff will continue till the end of February, and the quarterfinals or eliminators will happen on 8 and 15 March. The top positions in the table will qualify directly for the semi-finals, and the positions from 3-6 will play the eliminators which then opens space for the winners to compete with the leading teams in the semi-finals.

“This year, the tournament is very open ended. In the next two-three weeks, we will see the middle order or even bottom teams if they perform better jump quickly up towards the top of the table and anything can happen,” Prashant Belwalkar, organiser of the tournament from MCCC, told The Indian Weekender.