The Ministry of Health has announced 97 new community COVID-19 cases and 11 new Omicron infections. 

Of the 97 new community cases, 61 are in Auckland, 14 in Waikato, three in Tairawhiti, eight in Bay of Plenty, seven in Lakes, three in Hawke's Bay and one in Northland.

The 11 new confirmed Omicron cases takes the total number of infections of the new variant to 116 in the community.  

The ministry announced that there are seven people in hospital with none in ICU or HDU.

Yesterday, a total of 105 new community cases of Covid-19 were reported, which accounts for both Omicron and Delta variants of the virus, as well as cases where the variant is not known.