There are 25 new cases of Covid-19 in the community today, including 8 confirmed cases of the Omicron variant.


"Of these [Omicron] cases, today we are reporting eight – two are in the Nelson/Tasman region and are contacts of existing cases, five cases are in Auckland linked to one of the reported family events, and there is an additional case in Palmerston North, a household contact who was already isolating and linked to the previously reported Palmerston North Omicron case," the Ministry of Health said.

"The number of cases and contacts are expected to grow given the highly transmissible nature of Omicron and as we learn more from case interviews."

Ten people are in hospital with the virus.

Today's new community cases of Covid-19 are in Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Rotorua, Palmerston North, and Nelson Tasman.

One of Nelson/Tasman cases was first announced yesterday, the ministry said, and was officially added to the case numbers today.

There are also 50 new cases in managed isolation today, the Ministry of Health has announced.

Yesterday health officials announced there were 24 new community cases of Covid-19 in the community, and 47 new cases in managed isolation and quarantine facilities.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern had also announced that the whole country would be moving into the red traffic light setting at 11.59pm last night.