Phil Goff has retained the Auckland mayoralty with 155,957 votes.

Progress results for the Auckland local election are now available on the elections website, or here.

Progress results reflect approximately 95 per cent of the votes cast but don’t include special votes or votes hand-delivered on election day morning.

Results for the Whau and Waitemata-Gulf wards are too close to call and may become clearer once the preliminary results are through.

Just 154 votes separate the two top-ranked candidates in Whau, while the margin in the Waitemata-Gulf ward is 178 votes.

Bill Cashmore was the only candidate to contest the Franklin ward and returns to the seat unopposed. Likewise, Greg Sayers returns to the Rodney seat unopposed.

There are also a number of close calls in the local board results.

The progress results for the mayor and ward councillors are below.

Mayor of Auckland

Phil Goff

Albany Ward

John Watson, Wayne Walker

Albert-Eden-Puketapapa Ward

Cathy Casey, Christine Fletcher

Franklin Ward

Bill Cashmore

Howick Ward

Sharon Stewart, Paul Young

Manukau Ward

Alf Filipaina, Fa’anana Efeso Collins

Manurewa-Papakura Ward

Angela Dalton, Daniel Newman

Maungakiekie-Tamaki Ward

Josephine Bartley

North Shore Ward

Chris Darby, Richard Hills

Orakei Ward

Desley Simpson

Rodney Ward

Greg Sayers

Waitakere Ward

Linda Cooper, Shane Henderson

Waitemata and Gulf Ward

Pippa Coom (subject to confirmation)

Whau Ward

Tracy Mulholland (subject to confirmation)

Sunday 13 October

Preliminary results will be available on the morning of Sunday 13 October on These results will include all ordinary votes cast throughout the region but won’t include special votes.

Official results

Final results are expected on the afternoon of Thursday 17 October 2019 (once all valid special votes have been included).