Chasing the mammoth score of 219, India started slow and lost early wickets putting immense pressure on the following batsmen who lost to brilliant spells by Black Caps.

Rohit Sharma was the first return to the pavillion followed by Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya and then Krunal Pandya who  struggled to stay on the pitch long and face Kiwi seamers.

India lost seventh wicket on 129 runs with Dhoni defending and making singles and doubles towards a reasonabl score at the end of 20 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar went back for 1 run by Ferguson being the eight on 132 at the end of 18 overs.

Tim Southee took three, and Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi each picked up two wickets.

Dhoni was the second last to go followed by Yuvendra Chahal who was bowled by Daryll MItchell.

India were all out for 139 runs in 19.2 overs.