Eight teams from different regions of New Zealand gathered with their supporters at the Crum Park in Titirangi on Saturday morning, February 2 for the Tenzing Hillary Football Cup 2019.

The team from Christchurch, Lhotshampa FC came out victorious at the end of the tournament keeping their title and winning the championship for second consecutive time.

The tournament is hosted by the different regions on a rotational basis, and this year it was jointly hosted by FC Khakuri and Gurkha FC, both Auckland based Nepalese football clubs.

The final match was held between Lhotshampa FC and FC Khakuri where the ChCh team beat the Auckland Club by 2-1.

Runner Up - Football Club Khukuri - 2019

The match was inaugurated by Lady June Hillary who kicked the ball at the ground and declared the 2019 championship open. Acting Honorary Consul of Nepal in New Zealand, Peter Gibbs and other supporting community organisations.

“The event was a great success- especially amongst the youth of our community as it gave them another opportunity to show their sports talents and amaze the crowd,” Prayash Chhetri, from the organising team, told The Indian Weekender.

More than 700 people came to see the games and cheer the players over the two-day tournament at Crum Park. Labour MP Michael Wood and Auckland Police’s Ethnic Liasion Officer Neil Pimenta were invited as guests to the event.

The Plate Championship was given to Druk FC  from Palmerston North ($300), Bhutanese Nelson FC won $500 for Fair Play Team award.

Best Player 2019 - Ashish Rai

Gurkha FC from Auckland took the fourth place with $300 cash prize, NABOP from Bay of Plenty scaled to the 3rd position $500. FC Khakuri from Auckland lifted the runner's trophy with $1200 cash prize, and Lhotshampa FC from ChCh defended their title to life the championship trophy again this year and $1800 as the cash prize.

Tom Gurung from Nepal United FC, Christchurch scored eight goals and received the $100 cash award for highest goals in the tournament, Dhurba Gaire from FC Khukuri as the Best Goalkeeper and Ashish Rai from Lhotshampa FC, Christchurch was named the Best Player of the Tournament, both receiving $100 in the prize.

The event was supported by NRNA NZ, New Zealand Nepal Society, New Zealand Nepal Chamber of Commerce Inc., New Zealand Nepal Association and GoalNepal.com as Digital Media Partner of the tournament.