The New Zealand Telugu Association (NZTA) has formed a new team of the executive committee to organize activities for the year 2019.

The new committee was announced with the poster on NZTA’s Facebook page on the new year led by Srilatha Magatala as the newly appointed president and Rajendra Dharanikota as the General Secretary.

The outgoing incumbents of these two positions are Aruna Bhoompelli and Sunil Kuncha respectively.

The new committee hosted its first event of the year by welcoming the community with the Telugu Calendar Inaugural Function on Tuesday, January 1, at Sri Ganesh Temple in Papakura.

NZTA also celebrated the Sankranti festival with the community members at the Mt Roskill Community Centre on Saturday, January 5 from 10 a.m.

The Sankranti Sambaralu 2019 event hosted kite flying event, dance, and cultural activities for the members of the Telugu community. A special event ‘Muggula Potilu’ was organised for the female members of the community.

The other members of the team holding different positions are Rajashekhar Reddy Patlola, Bhavani Shankar Yeluri, Anitha Mogilicharia and Desu Subbu as the vice-presidents. Sridhar Reddy Arepalli as the Treasurer, Varsha Chandakapuri and Pranay Orugunda as Joint Treasurers, Arun Kumar V, Dilip Kumar B and Arun Reddy Gone as Joint Secretaries.

The team also has ten Executive Committee members and two co-opted members supporting the team for 2019 events.